Poland to Join Eurojackpot in September 2017

Poland will become the 18th participating country in Eurojackpot when tickets go on sale later in the year. The announcement came at the ninth European Lotteries Congress in Krakow, where industry officials from different nations met to discuss various issues.

Poland to Join Eurojackpot in September 2017

Poland will join the game in September 2017, making it the first new nation to be welcomed into the Eurojackpot fold since Slovakia entered in October 2015. Tickets will be available from Saturday 9th September, ahead of the draw on Friday 15th September.

Croatia, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Germany, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, the Netherlands, Norway, Spain and Sweden have been part of Eurojackpot since it was launched in 2012. Spain joined later the same year, followed by Czech Republic and Hungary in October 2014.

Eurojackpot offers massive jackpots every Friday night, and a German player who won €50.2 million on Friday 26th May has come forward this week to claim his prize. The lucky ticket holder is retired and has no big plans for how to splash the cash, so he would like to help out children in need.

Germany has proved to be the most successful country on Eurojackpot with 22 jackpot winners in the last five years, and Polish players will hope to enjoy similar fortune when the game starts being offered in September.

As Polish fans look forward to playing Eurojackpot, the European Lotteries Congress has highlighted the importance of sticking to well-established values. Hansjörg Höltkemeier, appointed president of the European Lotteries Association for a second term, said: “We should keep in mind that social responsibility is what’s important to us.” The Congress also spoke about exploring new directions and embracing social media as an important area for the lottery sector.

A top prize of €15 million will be available on Eurojackpot this Friday following a rollover last week, and players can pick their numbers online or visit authorised retailers in any of the participating countries.

Article Published:
Article Last Modified: Tuesday, 29 August 2017 13:22:04+01:00
Published By: